What I Own: Too Many Jackets

A few years ago, I started a new job that required I wear a jacket almost every day. I bought a ton of jackets just before I started the new job, and then got it stuck in my head that a girl can never have too many jackets. Well, if I had stayed at that company, that could have been true. But I left that job after 6 or 7 months of absolute misery, and joined an organization where jackets were acceptable, for sure, but not really the norm. The organization I work for now is even more casual. Wearing a jacket at my current job means I’ll probably be asked at least once, “Do you have a job interview today?” or “Do you have a big presentation today?”

Thankfully I stopped buying jackets, but I have a very large collection of them collecting dust in my closet. The main reason I don’t wear them? They usually give me headaches. Wearing a jacket feels so constricting — compared to a cardigan — and that generally makes my head start to hurt. I’ve found a few jackets that are made of a knit material, so they’re actually almost as comfortable as a hooded sweatshirt. But, alas, most aren’t like this.

Another reason I don’t wear jackets is because I’m very particular about the shape and how that works for my body. I’m still trying to figure out what works for my pear shape — and probably will be for the rest of my life. Some jackets I’ve purchased seemed great in theory, but then never looked quite right. For example, this jean jacket (or do we call them denim jackets now?) from Gap. (I realize this is not a dressy jacket AT ALL, but it’s a jacket in my collection of jackets.)

gap jean jacket | What Lindsey Likes

I bought this jacket close to 10 years ago. It was on crazy clearance at the Gap store in Madison, Wis. I was shopping with my mom and hadn’t bought anything. I bought this solely so that I didn’t leave the state empty-handed. Aside from standing on the deck outside my house for this photo, I’ve NEVER worn this jacket before. The fit is wrong in every area. The length is too short for my body type, the arms are really long and the body is at least one or two sizes too big.

Gap jean jacket | What Lindsey Likes

It doesn’t help that the shirt I’m wearing is really long in the back. But still, there’s no hope for this jacket. I’ll try to add it to my closet misfits pile and see if I can figure out at least one way to wear it. I’m not optimistic — I think it’ll be moving from the misfit pile to the Goodwill pile.

So short jackets are clearly not what I should be wearing. Yet I kept buying them for such a long time. This next jacket is still kind of short, but it’s shape makes up for it. I don’t think it’s perfect with this shirt because this shirt is so long in the back, but it goes with quite a few other tops that I have. Plus, most importantly, this is one of those hooded-sweatshirt-material jackets.

Target jacket | What Lindsey Likes

Oh, by the way, I’m blonde now.

This jacket is an improvement over the jean jacket because it has an actual shape. The zipper detail cuts in a little, giving me an actual waist. There’s also some strategically placed darting to make it look a little more feminine. I LOVE this jacket. However, like I said earlier, this shirt is too long, so this probably isn’t an outfit I’d wear. Ha, yet I’m comfortable posting in on my blog.

Target jacket with too long shirt | What Lindsey Likes

This next jacket is awesome because it’s longer than any other jacket I’ve ever seen. I saw a former coworker wearing it once and basically tackled her to the ground to ask where she got it. The jacket is made by Gibson, and is available at both Nordstrom and Nordstrom Rack. I bought this one and an identical black one from Nordstrom Rack. I know that I ordered a few additional colors/prints from Nordstrom’s website, but the sizing wasn’t quite the same, so they went back.

Grey Gibson jacket | What Lindsey Likes

So this jacket is a bit deceptive. It LOOKS like the same hoodie material at the green one, but it’s only like that on the outside. The inside is lined like regular suit jackets are, which defeats the whole purpose! So it looks like it’d be crazy comfortable, but it’s not. Plus it’s dry clean only. Worst thing ever! I still love how it looks, though. I love the length and the darting.

Grey Gibson jacket | What Lindsey Likes

This post’s final jacket is on the longer side too, but not quite as long as the Gibson. This jacket came from New York & Company. It was incredibly cheap, and was another purchase that was made solely because I didn’t want to leave the mall empty-handed.

Leopard print jacket | What Lindsey Likes

It’s a straighter fit than the previous two jackets, but that’s OK. It’s still slim enough to give me a little shape rather than just being a box like the jean jacket was.

Leopard print jacket | What Lindsey Likes

I never mentioned the shirt I’m wearing today. I bought this sleeveless top from Banana Republic this weekend. It was originally $55, on sale for $29, plus an extra 50% off, making it $15ish. I had an Old Navy rewards certificate that needed to be spent, so I bought this and a few other things for what amounted to $10. The top might look polka-dotted in these photos, but it’s actually like a mesh. Ha, a classy mesh, if you can believe it. I bought the size small, and as you can see from the photos it’s still fairly large. I tried on the ‘small petite’ size, but it was a lot shorter without much change in the fit of the body. The arm holes are ridiculously large on me, so it’s safe to say I’ll never wear this without a jacket or cardigan unless I’m commuting — alone — to and from work on a warm day.

Sorry for the mixture of headless and head-ful photos. The wind was CRAZY when I took these pictures. My hair was everywhere, namely in my face. Wind is my least favorite element of weather.

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I Own: Too Many Jackets

  1. I read a prior post of yours, from 2013 I think, about buying jeans and I think that’s how I came across your blog. Anyhow, just wanted to say, the straight leg jeans look great on you. I’ve never been brave enough to try them because I have always thought the same as you did-that the flare or boot-cut helps even out a shape like mine. Plus I figured the straight leg would be way too “skinny jean” for my liking. You have given me the courage to try out the straight leg and I can’t wait to see what they’re like!

    • You should definitely try them!! I feel like every brand defines “straight” a little differently, so if you try on one brand and hate them, give them another shot at a different store 🙂 I tried to go back to a flare leg recently and it just didn’t work for my shape AT ALL. Straight seems to be good for me because it almost looks like the skinny leg look, but without the skin-tight appearance on my calves. Good luck on your search! Let me know what you find!!

Leave a Reply

