Life Last Month: The ATL and San Diego

I’m not much of a traveler, so you can imagine my excitement when I had two trips in one month! Not only did I get to practice my carry-on packing skills, but I also got to visit my favorite brother and some zoo animals.

lindsey travels to atlanta | whatlindseylikes

When I planned my trip to Atlanta, I really, really expected that I’d be escaping the Minnesota cold and dreary for a sizzlin’ Hotlanta. No such luck. It was actually colder and drearier (who knew that was a word?) in Atlanta, unfortunately for me. And all of Georgia and its surrounding area. My brother and I tried to plan a couple back-up locales if the Atlanta weather sucked — Nashville, Savannah and Destin (Florida). The weather sucked everywhere within a five-hour radius of Atlanta. So instead of touring a sunny southern city of some kind, we toured a nearby mall and a muddy park, then watched hours upon hours of Game of Thrones.

I want to talk about that show really quickly. I had seen one episode a few years ago with my brother and thought it was an interesting show, but didn’t have the time to keep watching. The grossest of gross weather conditions in Atlanta gave me plenty of time to watch from the very beginning, though. And thankfully my brother has the DVDs. I’m HOOKED. Now I understand why the rest of the world is obsessed with the show. My brother loaned me the DVDs for the rest of the seasons, so I came home and spread the addiction to Dan, and we’ve wasted so many hours the last two weeks watching the show. Last week was the least productive week of my life. I’ve accomplished more when I’ve had the flu than I did when I had seasons two and three of Game of Thrones.

OK, back to the trip. Here I am at the muddy park. Typically this place is beautiful — it’s Piedmont Park. It actually was really pretty, but the day was just dreary, so…

lindsey travels to atlanta | whatlindseylikes

After an hour of dodging puddles and muddy sidewalks, we took a trip to the CDC’s main campus. My brother works for the CDC, although not technically at this location, but I wanted a photo with me in front of the CDC sign. Mission accomplished.

lindsey travels to atlanta | whatlindseylikes

After those two stops, we went back to my brother’s place and watched hours of Game of Thrones. I should have taken a photo of myself lazily sitting on the couch since that would have been the most representative of the trip. My poor brother had to keep pausing the DVD in order to explain the back story.

lindsey travels to atlanta | whatlindseylikes

On my last day in Atlanta, the rain clouds were nowhere to be seen and the sun was shining. We walked around Oglethorpe University for a bit, then made our way toward the airport. While the weather was not at all cooperative for the majority of the trip, it was so great seeing my brother.

Less than two weeks later, I was in the airport again for a work trip to San Diego. Unlike Atlanta, the weather in San Diego was beyond amazing. The hotel where I stayed had beautiful views.

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

My hotel was also walking distance to the USS Midway — it was so cool! There was actually a social event happening my first night for all attendees for the conference I was attending, but I’m too introverted to go somewhere alone, so I stayed in my hotel to watch HGTV. Livin’ the dream!

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

I had some free time before the conference started on my first day in San Diego, so I took a bus and headed to the San Diego Zoo.

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikesA few of my friends and coworkers wanted to hear all about the delicious restaurants I went to while in San Diego. Unfortunately, I’m really unadventurous, so here are the highlights of my meals: over-priced room-service French toast and Cheerios with a fork.

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikesOn my last night in San Diego, I took a stroll along the harbor to watch the sun set. Such a beautiful place.

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

The best thing about traveling alone is you can do anything you want and go anywhere you want. The worst thing is that you arrive home with basically zero photos of yourself at all the awesome places you went. Oh well. I managed to take this selfie. Of the 10 I took, this was the most-usable 🙂

lindsey travels to san diego | whatlindseylikes

Leave a Reply

