Pinterest in My Closet: Thinking Spring

Overall, this winter really hasn’t been that bad in Minnesota. We had quite a few days that were warmer than normal, and the snowfall has been minimal. The month of February was mega cold, but March has been decent.

Yay for spring!

I found this adorable picture on Pinterest that looks so springy and fun. It’s from the blog http://trendytaste.com.

Mint green is the perfect color for spring. You can see my take on the Pinterest outfit below.

old navy marled sweater and express flared jeans| whatlindseylikesThe marled mint green sweater I’m wearing is from Old Navy (last spring). It’s super comfortable — it’s not scratchy or overly warm. If you’re looking for a moderately priced mint sweater, Old Navy has a few options: cardigan, honeycomb knit, lightweight v-neck. If you like spending more money, check out J. Crew: Merino wool Tippi and Tilly crewneck. If a sweater isn’t up your alley, there are tons of necklaces with mint green. J. Crew, J. Crew Factory and Bauble Bar are a few of my favorites.

I copied the Pinterest photo’s flared jeans and brown shoes…I would have worn brown boots of some kind, but my jeans are way too short! So instead I went with these brown Anne Klein iFlex Briona flats. You might recognize them from my post with the black pair. Yes, I bought both pairs, but haven’t decided if I’m keeping the brown ones. While I don’t wear a lot of heels, I do appreciate the way they look. If I were going to wear heels with this outfit, I think any of these options would be super cute: Giuseppe Zanotti, Style & Co., Burberry Prorsum, Finlay, and Guess.

The Pinterest blogger paired a gold watch and a bright yellow purse. I wanted to keep the accessories minimal, so I went with this striped scarf I got at J. Crew (or J. Crew Factory…I can’t remember) a few years ago. I very rarely wear it — I have a hard time finding tops that are the right color combination. This mint sweater works perfectly. Now that it’s March and everyone is in full-on spring fever mode, I think I can wear the sweater.

Speaking of spring, its arrival will mean that I can wear my flared jeans more often. For the majority of the winter, I’ve had to wear skinny jeans that’ll easily tuck into my snow boots. I’m so sick of my outfits being dictated by the weather! I have so many cute shoes that I’m dying to wear, but they can’t handle the disgusting salt that’s covering all road and sidewalk surfaces across the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area. On weekends, I rarely wear cute tops anymore since I know I’ll have my long, heavy duty winter coat on the whole time. While this does mean I can wear workout/yoga pants almost everywhere I go, it’s time to get back in the swing of socially acceptable clothes again.

These jeans are from Express from several years ago — they have held together unbelievably well. Almost no fading or fraying. I haven’t bought flared jeans in a few years, so I can’t tell you for sure where to go. Loft doesn’t have them, so I’d probably try Gap’s Long & Lean or any flared options from Express. Old Navy doesn’t look like it has “flared” jeans, but some of their bootcut options look almost flared…so it depends on your level of desired flare.

old navy marled mint sweater and flare jeans | whatlindseylikes

I hope the spring weather is making it’s way to wherever you live! I’m so ready for winter to be over!

Leave a Reply

