What I’m Buying: Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion at Ulta

Ulta is holding its 21 Days of Beauty event right now. I love these sales because I almost always find a few products that are on mega-sale and it’s amazing. Last year they had Bare Minerals foundation primer, Prime Time (read my review here), on sale for $10 a bottle. That’s more than 50% off! I stocked up.

This year, one of my absolute favorite products ever is part of the sale. Tomorrow (Saturday, March 21), Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion will be 50% off, which means $10-12. If you’ve never heard of it, don’t feel bad. This product is a primer for your eyelids that keeps your eye shadow on and in place ALL DAY. It’s amazing.

urban decay eyeshadow primer potion | whatlindseylikes

These two are my favorite colors. Original is a nude color that won’t really show up on your eyelids at all. Sin is this amazing champagne color. It’s beautiful on its own. I’ve used the color sin in the Naked 1 palette, but I haven’t used it in the primer potion yet. I bought these two a month ago when Ulta had a 20% off coupon…and clearly haven’t started using them yet. I’m bummed that I didn’t wait for the 21 Days of Beauty!

When I was younger, I was pretty clueless about makeup. And by “younger,” I don’t mean junior high and high school; I mean my late 20s. This is when I finally tried Bare Minerals. Bare Minerals foundation was life-changing for me. It was the first time I ever felt confident that my foundation was right for my skin. After many years and many foundations from brands at every price point, I finally found what worked for my pale, pink-toned skin.

That confidence made me question all the other makeup snafus I’d been having. The biggest issue for me had been keeping my eye shadow on my eyelids. Within 20 minutes of applying my eye shadow each morning, all the color would creep into the creases of my lids. Rather than an entire lid covered in a beautiful shade of grey, you’d see a greasy looking lid with a super dark line of grey along my creases. It seemed like most other women I knew had the same problem, so I just assumed there was no hope.

Wrong.

Once I became obsessed with Bare Minerals, I started watching hours of YouTube makeup tutorials every weekend. I learned that when women find their life-changing makeup products – the ones they wouldn’t choose to live without – they called them “holy grail” products. Bare Minerals foundation is definitely my holy grail foundation.

The Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion is without a doubt another holy grail product.

I apply a teeny amount – maybe the size of two or three beads of quinoa? or the size of a regular grain of rice? – to my ring finger, then smooth it over one eyelid.

urban decay eyeshadow primer potion amount | whatlindseylikes

Just a small amount.

urban decay eyeshadow primer potion amount  | whatlindseylikes

When I’m applying it, I think of it like applying lotion: I cover the entire eyelid and a little above the eyelid, and try to work it into my skin. I repeat on the opposite side, then let it dry for 30 to 60 seconds. (This is typically when I’d apply my blush.) After it’s had a little setting time, I apply my eye shadow.

my eye makeup favorites | whatlindseylikes

When I say your shadow will last “ALL DAY,” I mean from first thing in the morning until maybe the early hours of the next morning if you have a special occasion. Let’s say I have work all day, then have a dinner party or some other event that night. I can apply my eye makeup that morning, go through my entire work day, maybe touch up my face with some pressed powder and a new swath of blush, but that’s it – I typically don’t need to touch my eye makeup. My shadow will still be in place by the time I get home after whatever evening activity I have going on.

I’ve noticed that some of my kohl eyeliners don’t seem to last into the evening, so that’s my only warning. But I don’t typically consider kohl liners to be long-lasting anyway, so I probably wouldn’t use that product on a mega long day, or I’d plan to reapply liner before the evening event.

Anyway, if you are fed up with creased eye shadow, I highly recommend Urban Decay Primer Potion. If you don’t live near an Ulta, you can get the same deal online. I plan to buy a few, and maybe save a couple as gifts for people in the near future.

Note: The product packaging says that one tube is good for approximately six months. I’ve been using the same tube (albeit mine is a slightly larger size than the regular one that’s on sale tomorrow — see below) for several years. At least three, but maybe closer to four. Now, eye hygienists might find that disgusting, but I haven’t had any eye irritation, so I think it’s OK. The picture below shows the regular size (which is part of the sale), a normal-sized pen and the primer potion I’m currently using, which is considered the “professional” size.

urban decay eyeshadow primer potion | whatlindseylikes

Are you going to buy any? I didn’t see any other days of deals that I was super excited about, but I also kind of stopped paying attention after I saw this deal. Let me know if there’s anything else on the list that I should consider!

Leave a Reply

