What I’m Wearing: Winter Wedding Options

I’m going to a wedding tomorrow. I don’t know if I’ve ever been to a winter wedding before, but I love the idea of it. There’s something about a beautiful, fresh coat of snow that glistens off the lights. It’s going to be so beautiful!

Unfortunately I’ve never purchased any winter-wedding-appropriate dresses, so picking an outfit for tomorrow has been a challenge. I had ambitions late last month and earlier this month of coming up with a lot of options and asking you all for help, but I’ve unfortunately procrastinated beyond belief. So here are a few options — none of which are all that appealing to me, unfortunately. Drat!

All of these photos are going to be headless, unfortunately. I took the photos last weekend while my hair was wet and my makeup undone. Just imagine I have an amazing hair style with perfect makeup. Ha, since that’s just my regular look, of course. Oh, and these photos were taken in our under-construction family room, so there’s a bit of sawdust, nails and wet-vacs hanging out.

banana republic skirt | whatlindseylikes

Here’s option one. I bought this skirt from Banana Republic at least 10 years ago. I love this skirt, but I’m not convinced of it. I’m struggling to find a top for it. I went through every shirt in my closet trying to find something winter-worthy, but almost everything I have that looks cute is short-sleeved. And I don’t think any of my cardigan sweaters will work with it…so I tried this. While this looks like a top, it’s actually a dress, but the bottom is hidden under my Banana skirt 🙂 The dress is from Macy’s, probably from 8 years ago. I used to wear this dress all the time, but unfortunately my backside isn’t as small as it was when I first bought the dress, so the skirt isn’t too flattering. I love the top half, though, mostly because of the embellishments along the neckline.

inc embellished dress | whatlindseylikes

banana republic skirt | whatlindseylikes

And don’t bother telling me that heels would be more flattering. While my legs might look better in heels, the rest of me won’t look good after I fall on the floor and twist an ankle.

nordstrom dress | whatlindseylikesHere’s option two — another black and white look! This dress was a Nordstrom anniversary sale from probably 12 years ago. This is the first time I’d ever purchased anything from a Nordstrom. I was on a trip with my mom (I believe we were in Seattle?) and somehow my mom thought I should buy a couple things and so I did. This dress has been a go-to option anytime I’ve needed something for a slightly colder temperature. However, I’m not sure this cardigan is dressy enough for a wedding…and I don’t have anything better.

nordstrom dress | whatlindseylikes

I absolutely love this necklace. Once again, a purchase from close to 10 years ago. It was super cheap from Forever 21 and I consider myself skilled and lucky for it to have held together all this time.

forever 21 bib necklace | whatlilndseylikes

OK, these next two options are a little bit out there, at least for me. I don’t envision myself wearing either because I’m not confident that either is flattering…but I had them on and took the pictures, so we’ll give it a shot. Ha, sometimes you know something doesn’t look good on you, and sometimes you don’t think it looks quite right, but it’s a case of being too hard on yourself. You can quietly judge me if these just aren’t right. Or openly judge me, whatever you prefer.

Forever 21 tunic | whatlindseylikes

OK, I’m going out on a limb with these faux leather leggings. My top is another super old purchase — what’s the deal with that? — from Forever 21. It has to be close to 10 years old. I LOVE this shirt, though. It’s been a favorite for a very long time. The jacket is from Target — maybe last winter. I’ve worn it absolutely zero times. It was on clearance, and I seem to have a soft spot for jackets on clearance.

Forever 21 tunic | whatlindseylikes

The part of this outfit that makes me the most excited is my jewelry. I layered a Forever 21 statement/bib with a necklace from J. Crew Factory. I’m so impressed with myself! I rarely have any skill in layering necklaces.

Forever 21 and J. Crew Factory necklaces | whatlindseylikes

I’m on the lookout for a bold black necklace. I’ve seen a few awesome ones on Etsy…might have to go that route, although they’re more expensive than I’m looking to spend.

Macy's dress | whatlindseylikes

Here’s my second questionable option. This tunic is from Macy’s, during my seasonal job there back in 2009/2010. It’s a fine top, just not sure it’s flattering with faux leather leggings on my body.

I will most likely spend any remaining hours before the wedding trying on any other options I might be able to pull together.  It will be a beautiful wedding, no doubt, but I’m not too confident that I’ll be contributing to any of that!

2 thoughts on “What I’m Wearing: Winter Wedding Options

    • Thanks! I really like #3, but I feel like I have to be super confident if I chose to wear it out. Although I think my new ponte pants (with panels of faux leather) might be a good compromise.

Leave a Reply

