What I’m Wearing: Thanksgiving Option 3

Read my first two Thanksgiving option posts here and here.

Everyone should be incredibly impressed with me. I went multiple clothing posts without mentioning my military vest! However, since it’s become my signature piece for 2014, I feel like it’s only right for me to think of a few outfits incorporating the vest.

This vest was made for events like Thanksgiving. It hides all the food I’ll be eating, and it can store all my essential items in the front pockets so I don’t have to worry about carrying a purse around. I mention these two perks every single time I talk about my vest. I’m a little worried that I’m sending too strong a message about my love of eating and not carrying a purse. Ha, I can’t be bothered to think about where my purse is while I’m stuffing my face. That’s basically what it boils down to.

Another feature (can clothing have features?) I mentioned in an earlier post about this vest was that it made a lot of my unwearable shirts wearable. All the tops I’m wearing today are too short or too tight — but this vest makes all of them wearable. Being able to wear any of these shirts again is enough to be thankful for on Thanksgiving.

I bought this adorable sweater from J. Crew so many years ago (I also have it in green!). I love this sweater, but it’s 1) way too short for my wider hips and thighs and 2) probably a little too tight. But it’s so cute! I haven’t been able to bring myself to donate it (or the green one) because I was always hoping I’d find a solution that made them wearable. One option was to wear this sweater on days where people would only see me from the waist up. Because that’s not normal, it doesn’t really count. The only other option I can think of is with a longer vest. While I’ve said with confidence that I think my military vest goes with everything, I’m not super confident it goes with this sweater. You can be the judge.

whatlindseylikes-jcrew

Note: Sorry for the flip flops. I couldn’t find a pair of shoes handy for this outfit…so I went with flip flops. #sorrynotsorry

Choosing only three looks with this vest was next to impossible. It goes with SO much! But I will show some restraint. Honestly, the only reason I didn’t do more outfits was because I was super lazy. I’m letting my true self show through in this post.

Another option I like, and one that I think looks pretty “November calendar photo shoot worthy” is this striped sweater from Banana Republic. I swear that this sweater fit me when I first bought it, but after I washed it, it totally shrank. The instructions say it’s machine washable, so I don’t know what the problem is. I didn’t dry it…so whatever. Anyway, it’s way too short now for me to wear it. Plus, I’m not convinced that mustard is a good color for me. But I think it works with this vest. I might have a scarf I could wear with this too…however, scarves for holiday meals end up just catching all the food that doesn’t make it to my mouth rather than being a cute accessory.

You’re going to see flip flops again. Just warning you.

whatlindseylikes-banana

And one with Dig, since he hasn’t been on the blog for awhile.

whatlindseylikes banana sweater

In both of the above outfits, I’m pairing my tops with my favorite LOFT curvy straight leg jeans. But I recently bought a couple pairs of leggings from Levi’s at Macy’s. They are elastic waist (um, hello, perfect for Thanksgiving!) and are uber comfortable. (I’ll do a full review on them later.) I paired the black pair of Levi’s leggings with this striped sweater from Old Navy, circa 2011/12(?). The sweater was a Black Friday deal and it was dirt cheap. I loved it when I first got it, but again, it seems to have shrunk up.

whatlindseylikes | old navy striped sweater

I can’t decide which of these I like best. I think I like all of them better than my first two posts…but that’s because I love vests.

Minnesota had its first snow, so flip flops definitely won’t be gracing anymore outfit posts until, oh, I don’t know, May.

Leave a Reply

