What Lindsey Likes: Saucony Cohesion 6 Running Shoes

shoe

What I Like: Saucony Cohesion 6 running shoe ($35-70)

What I Paid: $40

I love running. It’s the only exercise I’ve been able to commit myself to, and therefore the only exercise that has ever shown me any kind of results. I’m sure other exercises would prove valuable to me if I kept up with them, but I always get impatient and go back to running.

I have no trouble finding cute running clothes (hello, Old Navy!), but I’ve struggled with running shoes. I was stuck on Asics for awhile, but the last pair I had was all wrong for my foot. I take full responsibility for this: I bought the cheapest pair on the athletic shoe display wall and assumed they were the same style as my previous shoes.

They weren’t.

They made my feet ache when I ran. It felt like the circulation was being cut off. It didn’t matter how many different methods I used for how to tie the shoes, what socks to wear, how many socks to wear, etc. I had to buy a new pair of shoes after a few weeks of attempting to break in the others.

I decided I was done with Asics. I browsed the athletic shoe aisle at DSW, trying to find a shoe in my price range (less than $50) that was also comfortable. I had a pair of New Balance shoes a few years ago that I really hated. They were super lightweight, but it’s like they offered no cushion. I felt like I was running with bare feet (which is actually supposed to be good, I guess, but I hated it). My feet are big babies and need lots of cushiony support. I eventually came upon this pink and yellow Saucony Cohesion 6. I loved the way it looked (OK, not super important), but I also loved the price (at the time, $45, but I had a $10-off coupon!). When I tried them on, they felt really comfortable for my flat feet.

After I got them home and ran in them a few times, I fell in love. They were so comfortable.

I’ve been wearing this same pair for a lot longer than you’re supposed to wear running shoes, but I’m not a marathon-runner, so I don’t really care. (I run 3-5 miles per run, three or four times per week.) They’re now my outdoor-running-only shoes (which is rare — I prefer my treadmill, which I’m sure is some kind of sin in the running world). Because I love them so much, I just bought two pairs of them from DSW.com — one as a replacement pair and one as a future replacement pair. Good shoes are hard to find!

What I thought I heard was that you’re supposed to buy a half-size larger running shoe than what your regular shoes are. This is not true for me — I wear the exact same size in running shoes as my regular shoes.

If you’re in the market for new running shoes, I highly recommend the Saucony Cohesion 6. You can get them from basically any online shoe retailer (Dick’s Sporting Goods, DSW, Famous Footwear), or find them in most shoe stores. I hope they work as well for your feet as they did for mine!

Leave a Reply

