What I Finished: Healthier Choices Challenge Update

Well, my wonderful and warm trip to Florida has come and gone. I maintained my healthier choices challenge goals up to the trip…and that’s it. I plan to continue some of the goals (eating healthier, walking throughout the workday, standing at my desk, etc.), but not with any specific metrics assigned.

I made a concerted effort to be a healthier me for a little over a month and lost approximately 7 pounds. I owe pretty much all of my success to the MyFitnessPal app. Seeing exactly what I was eating and how much (or little) physical activity I was getting was eye opening and motivational. Anytime a cookie, donut or Mountain Dew was dangled in front of me, I thought about how many calories it would be and whether I would be able to offset that by making other food choices later in the day or adding exercise. Sometimes the offset was worth the treat, sometimes it wasn’t. But for the first time in a really long time, I actually thought about it and considered the consequences.

I also started cooking a lot of my own meals (seriously, thank you, Pinterest). It was a lot easier to control my calories and up my vegetable servings when I was the one putting all the meal’s ingredients together. It was great to make dishes that not only filled me up, but also kept me under my calorie count. Plus I really enjoyed it whenever Dan would say, “Wow, that was really good!”

Since returning from my trip, my dedication to MyFitnessPal has waned. I’ve entered a few days’ food and exercise, but I haven’t been quite as obsessive-compulsive about it. I’ve also entered my food intake without really caring how far over I was on my calorie/nutrition goals. (OK, so that’s mostly because I maybe went overboard during my last grocery trip in the cookies aisle…but almost all the sweets are gone now, which means I can get back on-track soon. If the cookies are there, I will eat them.)

Even without my full dedication to MyFitnessPal, I’m definitely more aware of what I’m eating and what the consequences are. I think if you do something and you see results that make you happy, you’re much more likely to stick with it. I’ve been beyond happy with my results. I plan to continue being a healthier me…just not obsessing about it.

Leave a Reply

