What I Tried: Ojon Damage Reverse Restorative Hair Treatment

ojon1What I tried: Ojon Damage Reverse Restorative Hair Treatment

What it costs: $19.50 for 1.5 ounces at Ulta, Sephora and other stores

I bought this at an Origins store using some kind of coupon. Spoiler alert: In my opinion, no percentage discount would have made this product worth purchasing.

I originally went into Origins to find Christmas gifts for my mom and Dan’s mom (seriously, Origins is like my go-to store if I desperately need gifts). I had just recently noticed that my hair — especially my roots — were extra dry and brittle-feeling. I told the sales clerk, and she recommended Ojon’s Damage Reverse Restorative Treatment. Normally before making a purchase like that, I’ll do some research, but it was sort of a “must use coupon right now” kind of moment.

The first time I tried it, I applied it as the packaging instructed: scoop product into palm of hand, warm by rubbing hands together until product turns into an oil, distribute evenly through hair and scalp; repeat steps until hair is full saturated; comb through hair and let sit for 20 minutes.

Typically I wouldn’t apply a product like this to my roots, since I consider my hair to be relatively greasy on its own. But the main reason I purchased the product was for treatment at my roots, so I went all out.

I let the product sit in my hair for probably 30-45 minutes, then showered. I should have shampooed two or three times (and many of the reviews will say that), but since I had just recently colored my hair, I didn’t want to wash out the color any faster. So I only shampooed once. Yikes.

My hair looked HORRIBLE for the rest of the day. It looked like I hadn’t washed my hair in days. If I didn’t have bangs, I could have just pulled all my hair into a bun and maybe it would have been fine. However, I do have bangs, which looked disgusting. Thankfully the only thing on my agenda that day was a lunch with my parents. (Sorry, parents, for looking like a hot mess.)

When you open the cap, the product looks like a hard wax. You basically try to scoop bits out with your hands. It was kind of fun to rub it between my hands and watch it turn to an oil. That’s where the fun ended though.

ojon2

The second time I tried it, I only applied it to the mid-shaft and ends of my hair. Totally defeats the purpose of purchasing it for “restoration” of my roots, but whatever.

Neither time did I think my hair was magically transformed. I’m going to assume I probably have to use it multiple times a week for a few months in order to see some kind of change, but being the overly cynical person that I am when it comes to product claims, I’m going to make another assumption: it will never transform my hair.

I wouldn’t recommend this to any of my friends or anyone with relatively fine hair. Maybe it works for those with course hair?

If you’ve had better luck with this product (or a product similar to this), let me know! The product has fairly high reviews. The one- and two-star reviews were all people who had the same experience I had. A lot of the reviews also complained about a “smokey” smell to the product. I believe Ojon changed its formula somewhat recently — the product I purchased didn’t have a bad smell to it. The scent isn’t citrus-y or fruit-y at all, either. I don’t know how to describe it. It’s not bad, but it’s not good.

2 thoughts on “What I Tried: Ojon Damage Reverse Restorative Hair Treatment

  1. I have the same product – but I didn’t mean to buy it. I had some points to use on Birchbox, and had heard good things about a similar product but accidentally bought this instead. It didn’t make my hair as greasy as you said it made yours, but it didn’t really do anything good. Made it maybe a little bit softer, but nothing that lasts.

Leave a Reply

