What I Use: CeraVe Cleanser and Moisturizers

What I use: CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser, Foaming Facial Cleanser, Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM and Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM

Where you can buy it: Target, Walmart, CVS, Walgreens

When I went to visit my dermatologist last spring for my annual mole-check, I was venting to her about my skin and my frustrations with moisturizers and cleansers. I had tried about 10 different cleansers over the last couple years and didn’t feel like any of them actually cleansed my skin. The cleansers all seemed to strip my skin of moisture, but didn’t make my face feel clean. The moisturizers never seemed to really sink into my skin, and my face grew extra greasy as the day went on.

My dermatologist recommended the CeraVe brand, so I decided to give it a whirl.

First, I bought their Foaming Facial Cleanser and Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM. I really liked the lotion — it felt moisturizing and it has SPF 30. I won’t buy any moisturizer without at least SPF 30.

The cleanser was OK. The bottle says that it’s for normal to oily skin, and I was pretty convinced that I had oily skin (which probably isn’t the case — I think I was using overly drying products which actually made my skin oily to try to make up for the lack of moisture). The cleanser wasn’t overly irritating to my skin, like some have been in the past, and made my skin feel clean after use. But my skin did feel a little tight after using it, so I wasn’t in love. I also use a few very drying topical treatments, so that didn’t help šŸ™‚

To try to counteract the dryness, I later purchased the Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM. I applied it right before going to bed. Because I’m pretty lazy, I didn’t make this a regular habit (until recently), so I saw some improvements in my dryness but not a lot.

OK, so here’s where the awesomeness happened. When I ran out of the Foaming cleanser, I went to Target to buy another bottle. I accidentally bought the Hydrating cleanser, but didn’t realize my mistake until I started using it.Hydrating-Cleanser

The consistency is way different from the foaming cleanser. It looks like you’re pumping a semi-transparent lotion out of the bottle. I seriously love this stuff. I’ve only been using it for a month or so, but it’s already helped drastically with my dryness (probably because this cleanser is for normal to dry skin). My face feels thoroughly clean after I use it, but I don’t have that mega-tight feel on my face.

It doesn’t irritate my skin at all. Most other cleansers would leave my face bright red after I washed. With this cleanser, my face just feels relaxed and soothed. It’s such a huge difference from what I’ve experienced before.

Now that the cold and dry weather is here to stay for the next 6 months (damn you, Minnesota!), I’m hoping this will keep my skin relatively flake-free. And hopefully I’ll be a little more consistent in using the PM moisturizer too.

Leave a Reply

