What I use: Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer

dlt3What I bought: Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting concealer (I use the color Radiant; this one says Ivory because I bought it by mistake – argh! I’m super pale and have pink undertones)

What I paid: $6.50ish (at Walmart; also available at Ulta, Target and other drugstores that sell Maybelline products)

I’ve tried a few under eye concealers in the past, struggling to find something that 1) didn’t look yellow, 2) didn’t look super cakey, 3) didn’t create the reverse raccoon eyes by the end of the day.

I tried Bobbi Brown’s corrector and creamy concealer. I loved the coverage and the color match. Unfortunately, it was pretty creamy (read: greasy), which resulted in a number of issues. First, I couldn’t wear sunglasses because the part that rests on the bridge of my nose would rub the concealer off, and it would look super weird. The product would also settle into my fine lines pretty badly. I tried several different kinds of setting powders, hoping that would help…but no such luck. So, I had to ban that product for extended wear and only use it when I had a minimal amount of time that I’d be out. Like a lunch or a dinner. On days that weren’t sunny. Ha, that’s really helpful.

bareMinerals well-rested was too yellow, which is the opposite of my skin tone, so it just looked awful.  Neutrogena’s 3-in-1 Concealer for Eyes was OK, but seemed to change color as the day wore on.

Bare Escentuals introduced Stroke of Light highlighter concealer last year (I think) and I liked how it looked under my eyes, but it wasn’t quite as much coverage as I’d hoped.

I’m trying to accept that I won’t be able to 100% rid my under eyes of dark circles. Whenever I have beauty things that I’m self conscious about, I wonder how much other people notice. Typically they say that you are your worst critic…but there are definitely people who I’ve looked at and thought, “Does she know she looks like that?” So maybe you are your worst critic, and then I’m your second-worst critic 🙂

After watching quite a few YouTube videos about hiding under eye circles, I decided to try Maybelline’s Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting concealer. It’s the same concept of BE’s Stroke of Light, but considerably cheaper.

I really like it. The color seems to be slightly more on the pink-ish side, which is exactly what I needed. It goes on smoothly — it’s less creamy than the Bobbi Brown; it’s not that it’s chalky, it just has a less-greasy texture. It’s super easy to blend and does a good job of reflecting light.

dlt2Initially I used my bare Minerals well rested as a setting powder, but have skipped that step lately and have no complaints. I also use the Dream Lumi Touch on a light pink birthmark I have on my forehead — it does a decent job of covering that for the first few hours of the day. By the time I get home from work, though, the coverage isn’t quite as nice.

When I do my makeup, this is the first product I use. I apply it to my light birthmark on my forehead first (just a little), then blend with my ring finger. Next, I apply it to my undereyes and blend with my ring finger again. Then I apply my bareMinerals foundation. On days when I wear liquid foundation or BB cream, I apply my liquid foundation/BB cream first, then apply this.

Here are some of the reviews that helped me decide:

  • Miss Glamorazzi reviewed it in her July Favorites video
  • Reviews on makeupalley.com
  • Reviews at Ulta (plus, Ulta regularly had offers like buy 2, get 1 free or buy 1 get one half-off)
Leave a Reply

