Birthday Week Extravaganza: Work lessons

All week I’m sharing the most important lessons I’ve learned the last 30 years. Some are materialistic, some are possibly offensive and some are decent.

There are a few things I’d like to go back in time and tell early-20s Lindsey when it comes to her career. Probably the biggest would be to learn as much as possible about everything possible, even if you don’t think it’s interesting or valuable.

In one of my first jobs out of college, I worked on a small communications team at a haircare company. That meant I could have done anything related to communications that I wanted to do. Unfortunately I was very short-sighted at the time. When my super-awesome boss asked if I wanted to be involved in the company’s social media strategy, I vehemently refused. At the time, I felt very strongly against companies infiltrating my Facebook account and any other aspect of my online life. I wanted my Facebook account to be the place where I saw updates from friends and family, not notices about coupons from Macy’s. It didn’t seem right to be one of the companies doing the infiltrating.

Fast forward to today: social media experience is THE most sought after skill in many communications roles. Dang! Huge missed opportunity.

I also could have played a bigger part in the company’s public relations (PR) work. For whatever reason, PR stuff scared the crap out of me, so again, I wouldn’t touch it with a 10-foot pole. Today, I’m kicking myself for not getting that experience so I could at least say I’d tried it. Maybe I would have loved it.

There are plenty of other learning experiences I’ve missed out on due to my short-sightedness. Some even recently. But I hope that since I’m aware of this fault now, I can make an attempt to be open-minded about everything that comes my way and find the positives in it.

If you’re looking to ramp up your career (or just need some specific advice on a question you have), here are a couple awesome resources:

Leave a Reply

