Birthday Week Extravaganza Continues: Hair Tips

All week I’m sharing the most important lessons I’ve learned the last 30 years. Some are materialistic, some are possibly offensive and some are decent.

If I could go back in time to visit little Lindsey, there are SO many things I’d want to guide her through. I’d like to tell her that the mean-girl bullies from elementary and junior high are not worth one tear that was shed or one sliver of self doubt they might have brought on.

I’d also like to tell little Lindsey that she has AMAZING hair potential. You wouldn’t know it from this picture (although the shine is pretty nice), but it’s true.

I hated my hair when I was a kid. I had no idea what to do with it. My mom would tell me I had good hair, but I didn’t believe her. She said I was lucky to have fine hair, but also a lot of it — resulting in a near-perfect combination. I thought it sucked.

When I was really young, I remember begging to cut my hair mega short so that I wouldn’t have to comb it ever. That resulted in looks like this.

I look back on those years now thinking, “What a waste of perfectly great hair!”

If I could go back in time, I’d tell little Lindsey to save up some money, go to a slightly fancy salon and have a stylist show her how to curl and style her hair. Then I would tell little Lindsey to practice it on nights and weekends.

I’d make sure little Lindsey did something about those bangs too. My bangs were a major source of stress. I wanted bangs so I could cover up my forehead. I don’t know that I’d call my forehead obscenely large, but it seems slightly disproportionate to the rest of my face. There were times like this below, where I tried to do the “wispy” bangs thing. Unsuccessfully.

picture1

I would advise little Lindsey to demand that the stylist she visits fix the bangs and instruct little Lindsey on how to properly style them. I’m not sure if side-swept bangs were a thing back then, but they should have been.

Also ask the stylist for help with hair products. Mousse can be your friend.

Then I’d focus on the basic things:

  • Super cheap shampoo and conditioner are totally fine — no reason to stress about that. “No one is able to tell that you are using Suave instead of Pantene Pro-V, I promise.”
  • Start practicing French braids and regular braids and any other kind of braid imaginable during some of your free time. Having nimble fingers for hair styling will be very helpful in the future.

Seriously, if YouTube hair tutorials had been around when I was in junior high, I could have had amazing-looking hair every day instead of the ultra-tight ponytail/bun with the most horrific bangs possible. Or, worse yet, air-dried hair with slicked back bangs.

Here are a few of the YouTube channels I’d tell little Lindsey to spend her time watching:

These ladies are amazing with hair. If only YouTube and Pinterest existed in the early 90s.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Week Extravaganza Continues: Hair Tips

Leave a Reply

