What I Made: Pinterest Fried Rice

[I’m typing this while watching Real Housewives of Orange County Reunion Part 2. If any random over-dramatic eye rolls or over-tanned skin get into this post, you’ll understand why.]

Since moving into the house, Dan basically works non-stop in the yard from the minute he gets home from work until a few minutes before going to bed. That means I’m making dinner for the two of us alone. I’m not much of a cook, so anything I make has to be EASY. And can’t require any specialized kitchen equipment. Heck, I just bought whisks last month.

One of our favorite recipes has been the Skinny Chicken Fried Rice from the Skinny Mom. (I haven’t spent a lot of time on her website yet, but I have a feeling there would be a gazillion delicious recipes to try.)

fried-riceThe first time I made this I followed the directions exactly. Ha, well, I must have messed up the chicken part of the recipe, because I wasn’t in love with it. I was, however, in love with the rest! The ingredients list includes frozen vegetables (how easy is that?!). Any time a recipe tells me to use frozen vegetables, I do a little dance in my kitchen because it means the most work I’ll have to do with those vegetables is cutting open the bag and dumping them into a pan. I hate buying lots of fresh veggies that I don’t end up using — I’m eternally grateful to have recipes with frozen veggies because I can throw the unused veggies back into the freezer for use at a later time.

The rest of the ingredients in this recipe are really simple — I’m not even going to go through the list here because Skinny Mom does a fantastic job of it already. Her directions are clear and she has pictures to boot.

I like to double the recipe. It’s such an easy thing for me to take to work for lunch and super easy for Dan to pop into the microwave right when he gets home before heading outside to work. Sometimes we’ll eat it as a side item…and sometimes it’s the main course. It’s just so good. The last time I made it, I had a side salad and was sufficiently full after the salad and a decent helping of the rice. When I did a Google search of, “What should I serve with friend rice?” someone mentioned getting a package of eggroll or wonton wrappers, spraying them with Pam and sprinkling salt/pepper on them. They said you could bake them in the oven until crisp, then use them as a scoop for the fried rice. I love this idea! But haven’t tried it yet.

Try this recipe, like, immediately.

Leave a Reply

